OUR CREATIONS

Incense is currently gaining a place of honour in the western art of living. With its refined cultural heritage, it conveys a poetic perception of the world which needs to be rediscovered, like the delicate gesture of smelling a perfume.

If the hourglass gives our mind an image of time running away between our fingers, wisps of smoke rising from a censer are like time flowing and lingering without haste in space. The time of the hourglass is a race, a race against time, incense is a dance that takes its time. Its art is slow, but of a correct and airy slowness, and the scent of incense, penetrating the senses, arouses memories, images and dreams.

It is in the rituals and liturgies that the rythm of smoldering incense, wrapped in fragrant smoke, becomes the witness of a very profound and most respectful veneration, ‘food of the Gods’; sacred bond between the past and the future, the visible and the invisible, the temporal and the timeless; in this expanded time where body and mind meet again, as if they are listening to the incense.

Insensum produces perfumed incense using traditional Byzantine know-how. The quality of the incense has improved considerably over the last twenty years, thanks to continuous improvements in the manufacturing process. In addition, the conscious and consistent choice to use only sustainable raw materials allows Insensum incense to unambiguously evoke the fascinating link between the beauty of nature and the profoundness of the sacred.

After an initial and extended period of creation and development at the Benedictine monastery of Chevetogne (Belgium), Insensum has been produced since spring 2023 at La Rivelaine, a formerly square farmhouse in the heart of Walloon Brabant, where the values of sustainable transition and connection to life are celebrated and lived on a daily basis.

The purity of the perfumes, developed exclusively by the perfume engineers at Charabot (Groupe Robertet, Grasse), and the olfactory stability of the palette of fragrances released during the combustion process make this incense highly appreciated for both liturgical and private use.

New product ranges will soon be launched. These include scented candles, perfume diffusers (capilla and spray), and soaps in tablet or liquid form.

The different types of incense from Insensum can be classified into four fragrance categories: floral, fruity, herbaceous and woody.

In addition to the name of the fragrance, each incense also has its proper name. Since the beginning of production, all incense has been named after a saint, a monastery or a sanctuary significant to the Christian East.

The names of the incense in the new range, launched in 2015, refer to a wider range of biblical and symbolic names.

To burn the incense, i.e. to melt the incense grains and release the fragrance, small charcoals, round and flat, specially designed for the purpose are commonly used. A charcoal must be lit with a flame until it glows red, after which it is placed in a censer. A few grains of incense are then placed on the charcoal using a spoon or tweezers. 

Other types of incense burners are also available on the market. An incense burner specially developed for Insensum will soon be available.

“Incense & Fragrance” is a not-for-profit association whose aim is to study, develop and promote the refined, intercultural and religious heritage of the world of olfaction. Incense has a unique place at the heart of this heritage.

The association brings together a small monastic community currently being formed within the Benedictine Order, dedicated to encounter and dialogue. Incense, the symbol par excellence of the sacred nature of all encounters between human beings, on the one hand, and between the human and the divine, on the other, is an instrument of choice for penetrating the mystical world of self-transcendence through encounter and dialogue.

The community tries to subsist and implement its objectives thanks to the marketing of the incense it makes and the support of its donors.

CONTACT US

Email: info@insensum.com

SiĂšge sociale: ASBL Incense & Fragrance, Rue Rivelaine 42/7, B-1428 Lillois, TVA: BE 0780.765.272
Email: info@ifpoetics.com, Tel: + 32 494 351199, IBAN: BE 35 9734 2440 4437

Donations: paypal.me/insensum

INSENSUM
Copyright © 2023

0
    0
    Your Cart
    Votre panier est vide

NOS CRÉATIONS

L’encens est actuellement en train de conquĂ©rir une place d’honneur dans l’art de vivre occidental. Par son hĂ©ritage culturel raffinĂ©, il nous transmet aujourd’hui une perception poĂ©tique du monde qu’il est temps de rĂ©apprendre, comme le geste dĂ©licat de respirer un parfum.

Si le sablier donne Ă  l’esprit une image du temps qui s’enfuit et coule entre les doigts, les volutes de fumĂ©e s’échappant d’un encensoir le rendent Ă  la fluiditĂ© d’une durĂ©e dĂ©ployĂ©e sans hĂąte dans l’espace. Le temps du sablier est une course, une course contre le temps; celui de l’encens est une danse qui prend son temps. Son art est la lenteur, mais une lenteur juste et aĂ©rienne, et le parfum de l’encens, en pĂ©nĂ©trant les sens, suscite mĂ©moires, images et rĂȘves.

C’est dans les rituels et liturgies, au rythme de l’encens se consumant, enveloppĂ© de ses fumĂ©es odorantes, que l’encens devient le tĂ©moignage de la plus profonde et de la plus respectueuse vĂ©nĂ©ration, ‘nourriture des dieux’; lien sacrĂ© entre le passĂ© et l’avenir, entre le visible et l’invisible, le temporel et l’intemporel; dans ce temps dilatĂ© oĂč le corps et l’esprit se retrouvent. Comme s’ils Ă©coutaient l’encens.

Insensum produit des encens parfumĂ©s selon un savoir-faire byzantin ancestral. La qualitĂ© de l’encens s’est considĂ©rablement amĂ©liorĂ©e au cours des derniĂšres annĂ©es grĂące au perfectionnement suivi du processus de fabrication. En outre, le choix conscient et cohĂ©rent de n’utiliser que des matiĂšres premiĂšres durables permet Ă  l’encens d’Insensum d’évoquer sans ambiguĂŻtĂ© le lien fascinant entre la beautĂ© de la nature et la profondeur du sacrĂ©.

AprĂšs une premiĂšre et longue pĂ©riode de crĂ©ation et de dĂ©veloppement au monastĂšre bĂ©nĂ©dictin de Chevetogne (Belgique), Insensum est produit depuis le printemps 2023 Ă  La Rivelaine, une ancienne ferme en carrĂ© au cƓur du Brabant wallon, oĂč les valeurs de transition durable et de connexion Ă  la vie sont cĂ©lĂ©brĂ©es et vĂ©cues au quotidien.

La puretĂ© des parfums, exclusivement Ă©laborĂ©s par les ingĂ©nieurs-parfum de Charabot (Groupe Robertet, Grasse), et la stabilitĂ© olfactive de la palette du parfum exhalĂ© lors du processus de combustion rendent cet encens trĂšs apprĂ©ciĂ© pour l’usage autant liturgique que privĂ©.

BientĂŽt de nouvelles sĂ©ries de produits verront le jour. Il s’agit notamment de bougies parfumĂ©es, de diffuseurs de parfum (capilla et spray), ainsi que de savons en tablette ou en forme liquide.

Les diffĂ©rents types d’encens d’Insensum peuvent ĂȘtre classĂ©s dans quatre catĂ©gories de parfums : floral, fruitĂ©, herbacĂ© et boisĂ©.

Outre le nom du parfum, chaque encens porte Ă©galement un nom propre. Depuis le dĂ©but de la production, tous les encens ont reçu un nom significatif pour l’Orient chrĂ©tien, soit celui d’un saint, d’un monastĂšre ou d’un sanctuaire.

Les noms des encens de la nouvelle gamme, initiée en 2015, se réfÚrent à une panoplie plus large de noms bibliques et symboliques.

Pour brĂ»ler l’encens, c’est-Ă -dire pour faire fondre les grains d’encens et permettre au parfum de se dĂ©gager, on utilise d’habitude de petits charbons ronds et plats, spĂ©cialement fabriquĂ©s Ă  cet effet. Un charbon doit ĂȘtre allumĂ© Ă  la flamme jusqu’à ce qu’il soit chauffĂ© au rouge, aprĂšs quoi il sera placĂ© dans un encensoir. Ensuite, avec une petite cuillĂšre ou une pincette, quelques grains d’encens seront dĂ©posĂ©s sur le charbon. 

Il existe Ă©galement d’autres types de brĂ»les-encens sur le marchĂ©. Un brĂ»le-encens spĂ©cialement dĂ©veloppĂ© pour Insensum sera bientĂŽt disponible.

«Incense & Fragrance» est une association sans but lucratif dont l’objectif est d’Ă©tudier, de dĂ©velopper et de promouvoir l’hĂ©ritage raffinĂ©, interculturel et religieux, du monde de l’olfaction. L’encens y tient une place particuliĂšre.

L’association rassemble une petite communautĂ© monastique en cours de formation au sein de l’ordre bĂ©nĂ©dictin, dĂ©diĂ©e Ă  la rencontre et au dialogue. L’encens, symbole par excellence du caractĂšre sacrĂ© de toute rencontre entre les ĂȘtres humains, d’une part, et entre l’humain et le divin, d’autre part, est un instrument de choix pour pĂ©nĂ©trer le monde mystique du dĂ©passement de soi par le biais de la rencontre et du dialogue.

La communautĂ© peut subsister et mettre en Ɠuvre ses objectifs grĂące Ă  la commercialisation de l’encens qu’elle fabrique et au soutien de ses donateurs.

NOUS CONTACTER

Email: info@insensum.com

SiĂšge sociale: VZW Incense & Fragrance, Bovenhoek 14b, B-9185 Wachtebeke, TVA: BE 0780.765.272
Email: info@ifpoetics.com, TĂ©l: + 32 494 351199, IBAN: BE 35 9734 2440 4437

Dons: paypal.me/insensum

INCENSUM
Copyright © 2023

0
    0
    Votre panier
    Votre panier est vide